News & Updates

11 December 2020 • High Performance

Top athletes in the running for Halberg Awards

AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - FEBRUARY 21: Tom Walsh winner of the Supreme Halberg Award at the 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards at Spark Arena on February 21, 2019 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Michael Bradley/Getty Images)

Many of our prominent athletics champions are in the running for honours at the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards Decade Champion ceremony, which takes place on 18 February 2021 at Spark Arena in Auckland.

Awards will be presented in eight categories: Halberg Award (the ‘supreme’ award) Decade Champion, ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Decade, High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Decade, ISPS Handa Para Athlete of the Decade, ISPS Handa Team of the Decade, Buddle Findlay Coach of the Decade, Sky Sport Emerging Talent Athlete of the Decade and New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade (decided by public vote).

The Sport New Zealand Leadership Award and Hall of Fame Inductees will also be included in the celebrations.

The finalists from athletics are as follows:

Emerging Talent Athlete of the Decade

Jacko Gill, shot put (Emerging Talent winner 2011)
Eliza McCartney, pole vault (Emerging Talent winner 2015)
Maddison-Lee Wesche, shot put (Emerging Talent winner 2018)

Para Athlete of the Decade

Liam Malone, sprint (Para Athlete winner 2016)

Sportswoman of the Decade

Dame Valerie Adams, shot put (Sportswoman winner 2010, 2011, 2012)

Sportsman of the Decade

Tom Walsh, shot put (Sportsman winner 2017, 2018)

Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade

Eliza McCartney, pole vault (winning the bronze medal with her final pole vault attempt at the 2016 Rio Olympics)

To vote for Eliza please click here

To view all the finalists in each category please click here