News & Updates

19 July 2021 • General

Weekly Round Up: 19 July

Janus Staufenberg leading out Caden Shields and Dan Balchin to claim his third consecutive senior men’s title at the Athletics Otago Cross Country Championships (Photo: Athletics Otago)

New Zealand Competition Results

Pre-Olympic Shot Put Competition, AUT Millennium Stadium, North Shore – 15 July 2021
Jacko Gill in further competition prior the Tokyo Olympics was out to 20.88m with the shot. His series was 20.15, x, 20.88, x, 20.61, 20.63.

Anton Schroder was second with 11.07m and Michael Mitchell third with 10.00m.

Kate Hallie recorded a throw of 12.87m with the 3kg shot.

Hawke’s Bay Gisborne Cross Country Championships, Apley Farm, Puketapu – 17 July 2021
Kate O’Malley won the senior women’s 10km cross country title in 48:10 and Eric Speakman claimed the senior men’s title in 39:31.

Zach Manning was second to Speakman in 42:41. Speakman was in Nice, France on 12 June where he ran 14:11.01 for 5000m having earlier in May in Irvine, USA run a PB 13:22.08 5000m.

Under 20 women 6km Brianna Lee 27:53. Under 20 men 8km Richmond Walker 32:24, Cameron Potts 33:01, Jonathan Moore 33:49. Under 18 women 5km Sofia Lambreas 22:58. Under 18 men 6km Karsen Vesty 24:14. Master women 6km Nicole Sattler 30:48, Katrina Buscke 31:19. Master men 8km Graeme Buscke 34:26, Neville Smith 35:01, Mark Fisher 35:42. 65 plus 6km Stephen Lindsay 34:44. Under 14 4km Jyde Low 16:50, Caitlin Kirk 17:35. Under 16 4km George McHardy 14:56, Jamie Dunnett-Welch 16:08.

Athletics Wellington Cross Country Championships, Harcourt Park Upper Hutt – 18 July 2021
Former national cross country and mountain running champion Ruby Muir won the senior women’s 10km in 38:13. Sarah Drought was second in 39:01 and Esther George third in 39:17. Mel Stevens was the first master in 40:50.

Daniel Jones collected the senior men’s title in 33:53, finishing well clear of 2019 champion Seamus Kane who was around the 10km in 34:15. Hiro Tanimoto was third and first master in 34:24. Brendon Thompson won the master men 50 plus in 38:34.

Will Anthony showed a clean pair of heels to the rest of the under 20 8km runners, winning as he liked in 26:13. Mason Waterworth was second in 29:19, the same time as Daniel Du Toit in third.

Men under 18 6km Josh Jordan 21:29, Guy Lees 22:15, Jacob Kilmister 23:34. Women under 20 6km Emma Douglass 24:05, Amy Walker 25:05, Saskia Cosgrove Drayton 26:08. Women under 18 5km Maeghan Casey 19:47, Eliza Squire 20:27, Phoebe Squire 21:16. Master men 60 Todd Krieble 20:53. Master women 50 Heather Walker 20:25. In the 4km U/16 men Max Poland 13:48 and U/16 women Maria Revelant 16:02. Under 14 2km Desmond Reddy 7:05 and Madison Wos 7:11.

At the recent Annual General Meeting of Athletics Wellington, Mark Harris was awarded Life Membership of Athletics Wellington for his services to the sport. Mark is member of the Wairarapa Track & Field Club with a long history in the sport as a competitor, coach, team manager, event manager and an official. Mark has served as a board member of both Athletics New Zealand and Athletics Wellington boards.

Athletics Otago Cross Country Championships, Chisholm Park Golf Links – 18 July 2021
Janus Staufenberg made it three years in a row in the senior men’s 10km title. Staufenberg was home just six seconds ahead of Caden Shields in 32:51. Daniel Balchin, who won the Otago championship in 2018, was third in 33:16 and Russell Green fourth in 34:25. Staufenberg was nearly two minutes faster than his eleventh placing at last year’s national challenge race on the Chisholm Park course.

Margie Campbell, winner of the 2019 Christchurch half marathon, claimed the women’s title over 10km in 41:25 from Liliana Braun 41:58 and Kristy Eyles 43:24.

Master men 8km; Nic Bathgate 29:42, Ben Wreford 30:23, Craig Iversen 30:35. Robbie Johnston won the 50 plus 8km in 30:37. Jacob Weston under 20 8km 27:43, Reuben Beard 28:57, Benjamin Britton 29:12.

Fifty-year-old Shireen Crumpton was the fastest master woman over 6km in 26:56. Claire Anderton clocked 27:51 and Georgina Pakeho 29:05. Under 20 6km Megan Foster 26:46 and under 18 6km Becky De La Harpe 25:45. Under 18 5km Hannah Prosser 19:31, Zara Geddes 20:02, Catherine Lund 20:07.

Men under 18 6km George Hamilton 20:55, Jake Owen 22:29, Matthew Bolter 23:44. In the 4km, B16 Angus Loe 14:28 and G16 Kimberley Iversen 16:39. The 3km winners were B14 William Harrex 12:41 and G14 Lila Rhodes 13:08.

Road and Trail Races Around the Country

O’Hagan’s 5km, Viaduct Harbour, 13 July: Devon Beckman 16:57, Harry Harris 17:05, Adam Berry 17:58. Kayla Fairbairn 19:51, Tia Knight 20:03, Rosie Taylor 21:10.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 14 July: Haoting Ma 17:32, Gavin Butlin 18:32, Sascha Letica 19:30, Tom Hanrahan 19:36.

YMCA 10km, Auckland Domain, 18 July: Sam Walker 36:44, Anna Williams 42:17.

WUU-2K Half Marathon, 17 July: David Haunschmidt 1:47:27, Nicholas Cox 1:48:33, Glen Chesterman 1:51:02. Joy Clements 1:58:17, Joane Elleouet 2:10:26, Amanda Rowe 2:11:52.
The Honest 10km, Oriental Bay, 18 July: Hayden Storrier 37:57, Blake Hawes 41:05, Hiro Tanimoto (pacer) 41:06.