News & Updates

5 July 2021 • General

Weekly Round Up: 5 July

Matthew Taylor backed up a win at the Auckland Cross Country Grand Prix last week with another victory in the North Island Cross Country Championships (Photo: Michael Dawson)

New Zealand Competition Results

North Island Cross Country Championships, Spa Thermal Park – 3 July 2021
Matthew Taylor followed up his win at Long Bay last week with an impressive run to take out the senior men’s North Island Cross Country title.

Taylor, from North Harbour Bays, applied the pressure on Michael Voss going into the final 3km circuit and enjoyed a clear run to the finish, covering the 9km in 28:50. Ryan Sissons made up plenty of ground over the final 2km to finish second in 29:01, heading in Sam Waldin by three seconds. Voss was next in 29:05.

Susannah Lynch of Olympic Wellington won the senior women’s 5km in 17:46. Lynch, silver medallist in this year’s national 3000m, 1500m and mountain running championships, put four seconds on Esther Keown on the final lap. Anneke Grogan was third in 17:52, and twice winner in Auckland this season Laura Nagel was fourth in 18:08.

Hannah Gapes of Lake City Rotorua was outstanding in the under 20 4km, setting a course record of 13:51, breaking Danielle Trevis’ 2010 time of 14:01. Penelope Salmon was second in 14:22 and Kimberley May third in 14:48.

Luca Evett of Wellington Harriers equalled Joseph Morgan’s record of 9:44 in the under 16 3km. Alan Jones of Egmont set a record of 34:09 in the master men 75-79 6km and Kathy Howard of Lake City established a new record of 28:51 in the master women 70-74 5km.

Rodwyn Isaacs (Pakuranga) won the master men’s 6km in 19:57, MacCullum Rowe of Egmont the under 20 5km 16:05, Jack Hunter of Wairarapa the under 18 5km 16:00 and Ben Oxford of Pakuranga the under 14 3km 10:32.

Sally Gibbs of Tauranga led in the master women, clocking 20:01 for the 5km, Boh Ritchie of Hamilton won the under 18 4km in 14:31, Jamie Dunnett-Welch of Napier the under 16 3km 11:08 and Scarlett Robb of Auckland City Athletics the under 14 3km 11:25.

Under 12 winners over 2km were Louay Benaoum of Auckland City Athletics 6:56 and Kaylee Earl of Hatea 7:56. Under 10 winners over 1km were Noah Roodt of Waitakere 3:38 and Brooke Martin of Olympic Wellington 3:59.

Pre-Olympic Shot Put Series, AUT Millennium Stadium, North Shore – 3 July 2021
Jacko Gill SP 21.26m, his seventh best of all-time. Series 21.25, 21.03, 21.20, x, 21.26, 21.13. Liam Ngchok-Wulf 6kg SP 16.27m. Ben Tuimaseve F37 5kg SP 13.20m NZ Para Athlete record. Kaia Tupu-South 4kg SP 15.32m. Series 15.32, 14.56, 15.11, 15.14, 15.09, 15.31.

Winter Throws Series #3, AUT Millennium Stadium, North Shore – 3 July 2021
Daniel Shaw 800g JT 44.00m, 700g JT 46.10m PB. Finn Burridge 700g JT 46.70m. Centaine Noom-Duckworth 4kg HT 49.19m, DT 40.64m.

Anderson Rally Cross Country, A & P Grounds – 26 June 2021
SM 9.4km Damien Lardner 34:01, Josh Dunstan-Brown 35:37, Niam Macdonald 36:40. SW 9.4km Kate O’Malley 44:51, Nicole Sattler 47:14, Anita Chan 47:46. MM 9.4km David Lovelock 38:12. MW 4.7km Dorota Starzak 22:01. U/20 7km Andre Le Pine-Day 25:05. U/20 4.7km Briana Lee 20:12. U/18 4.7km Karsen Vesty 17:22. U/18 4.7km Sophie Dunnett-Welch 19:37.

International Results

BAUHAUS-galan Diamond League Meeting, Olympic Stadium Stockholm, 4 July:
 Dame Valerie Adams SP 19.26m (1) (19.20, x, 19.26, x, 18.84, 18.65). Dame Valerie Adams claimed a first Diamond League victory in five years in Stockholm to deliver a big boost to her Olympic ambitions in Tokyo.

The shot put superstar fired the shot out to a best of 19.26m in round three of qualification to secure top spot in the Final 3 format – in which the top three athletes advance for a sudden death one-off throw to determine the podium order.

The 36-year-old New Zealand icon then proved her mettle in the Final 3, hurling the shot out to 18.65m – 28cm clear of her nearest rival Auriol Dongmo, who earlier this month set a Portuguese record of 19.75m. Maggie Ewen of the USA placed third (18.25m).

Spitzen Leichtathletik, Lucerne, 29 June: 
Hamish Carson 1500m 3:39.81 (5). Cameron French 400m H 51.38 (8). Dame Valerie Adams SP 18.91m (1) (18.30, 18.91, x, 18.43, 18.40, 18.69). Adams holds the meeting record of 21.11m set in 2012.

Luxembourg National Championship, Esch-sur-Alzette, 26 June:
 Hamish Carson 1500m 3:44.53 (2).

Irena Szewinska Memorial, Bydgoszcz, 30 June: 
Tom Walsh SP 21.46m (1) (21.22, 21.26, 20.65, 21.46, 21.13, x). Lauren Bruce HT 72.25m (5) (68.82, 69.86, 72.25, x, 71.43, x).

Meeting International de la Province de Liège, Stade Naimette-Xhovémont, Liège, 30 June:
 Zoe Hobbs 100m 11.57 -0.3 (1).

KBC Night of Athletics, Heusden, 3 July: Hamish Carson 1500m 3:37.26 (6). Hayden Wilde 5000m 13:29.79 (6RA), just outside his PB of 13:29.47 at this year’s Porritt Classic in Hamilton.

Bislett Games Diamond League Meeting, Oslo, 1 July:
 Camille Buscomb 5000m 15:23.90 (11).

Athletics Victoria Championships and VRWC, Middle Park, 27 June:
 Quentin Rew 15km RW 1:03:35 (3).

Road and Trail Races Around the Country

O’Hagan’s 5km, Viaduct Harbour, 29 June:
 Josh Nishitani 16:56, Harry Harris 17:17, Devon Beckman 17:26. Rosie Taylor 21:17.     
Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 30 June: Mike Wanden 17:42, Sam Mayhew 17:54, Tom Hanrahan 19:20.

XTERRA Trail Run, Waiuku Forest, 4 July: 22.6km; Max Thomson 1:33:43, Jacob Hendrickx 1:33:58, Andrius Ramonas 1:37:21. Greer Logue 1:51:21, Nikki Hill 1:58:54, Fleur Pawsey 2:04:03. 19km; Aaron Jackson 1:22:28, Michael Poynter 1:26:27, Franklin Hamilton 1:28:57. Bridie Hart 1:40:35, Dianne Smyth 1:44:43, Nicola Shannon 1:46:10. 12km; Frankie McKeefry 47:12, James Kuegler 47:30, Nick Hogg 49:14. Stella Hammond 53:55, Jen Mcdermott 56:31, Sophie Robinson 60:36. 8km; Jacob Hewitt 32:36, Samuel Rickerby 32:52, Ottis Oliver-Chambers 34:22. Arlo Farquhar 37:00, Scarlett Gwin 37:51, Jess Buxton 39:26.

Forest Run Fest, Frost Edition, Bottle Lake Forest Park, 3 July: Half marathon; 
Dan Watson 1:22:44, Nicholas Gonzalez Villota 1:27:21, Brad Williams 1:27:26. Kate Loye 1:29:46, Tiana Siddells 1:38:09, Narelle Denmead 1:39:28. 10km; Richie Boon 37:54, Flavio Vianna 37:59, Sam Anderson 38:08. Hannah Maher 42:33.

Leith Harbour Free 5 and 10, 24 June: 10km; 
Tadhg Ryan Charleton 33:47, Lars Winther 37:31, Danny Baillie 39:25. 5km; Corey Lewis 17:49, Luke Geddes 18:07, Sandor Toth 18:28.