News & Updates

27 March 2019 • High Performance

2019 Pacific Games Team Announcement

A team of nine athletes has been provisionally selected to represent New Zealand in athletics at the 16th edition of the Pacific Games. The Pacific Games will be held in Apia, Samoa from the 7-20 July, with track and field to be contested from the 15th-20th. This is the first time New Zealand has been invited to participate in a number of athletics events at the multi-sport competition.

In the field events, Taranaki hammer throw record holder Alana Ryan, has been provisionally selected. She will be joined by Southland’s Emma Wilson, who was 4th in the senior women’s hammer throw at Nationals earlier this month.

On the track, a provisional team of seven has been announced. This includes Auckland’s James Guthrie-Croft, Manawatu’s Brayden Grant, and Christina Ashton and Sarah Langsbury from Otago in the sprints; Wellington’s Tessa Hunt and Kirstie Rae in the middle distances, and Hawke’s Bay/Gisborne’s Matthew Taylor in the 10,000m.

Team Management applications have closed and will be announced in April.

First Name Last Name Gender Age Group Event/s
Christina Ashton Female Open 100m Hurdles
Tessa Hunt Female Open 800m
Sarah Langsbury Female Open 100m Hurdles
Kirstie Rae Female Open 1500m
Alana Ryan Female Open Hammer Throw
Emma Wilson Female Open Hammer Throw
Brayden Grant Male Open 400m
James Guthrie-Croft Male Open 100m, 200m
Matthew Taylor Male Open 10,000m