News & Updates

20 September 2021 • General

Weekly Round Up: 20 September

Hamish Carson competing at the New Zealand Track & Field Championships 2019 (Photo: Alisha Lovrich)

New Zealand competition results


Hawkes Bay Gisborne Road Championships, Ruahapia Road, Tomoana – 18 September 2021
Holly Manning won the senior women’s title over 10km in 38:11, finishing well ahead of Kate O’Malley who ran 41:46. Manning the national junior 800m champion in 2014 and 2015 and the Oceania junior champion in 2014 is back in Napier after her American scholarship at Stony Brook. The 24-year-old recorded her best 800m of 2:04.82 in Jacksonville in May to place her in the top 24 of New Zealand all-time.

Former Hastings runner and now with Pakuranga Ronan Lee won the senior 10km in 31:37 PB from Zach Manning, brother of Holly who clocked in at 36:22.
Neville Smith national steeplechase champion in 2007 headed in Graeme Buscke by 30 seconds in the master men with a time of 35:13. Jeremy Forbes was third in 37:28. Nicole Sattler won the master women 5km in 20:31.

Richmond Walker the under 20 8km winner in 27:56, Karsen Vesty took out the under 18 6km in 19:07, and Sofia Lumbreras the under 18 5km in 19:17.
Jamie Dunnett-Welch beat her 14-year-old twin sister Sophie by three seconds in the under 16 4km in 14:41. Max Wildbore won the under 16 boys 4km in 13:17.


Taranaki Road Championships, Fitzroy – 19 September 2021
Ben Hitchcock won the senior men’s 10km in 33:00, from Jun Park 36:15 and Pete Connole 37:23. Master men 35 Kyle Bridgeman 34:01, Nathan Foley 35:10, Mike Erb 35:32. 40 Shanon Stallard 34:42, Oli Vincent 35:01, Mike O’Sullivan 36:37. 50 Dave Hadley 40:13, 65 Murray Laird 22:04, 70 Des Phillips 28:03, 75 Alan Jones 29:04.

Master women 5km 35 Kathryn Gillum 24:31, 40 Rebecca Hutchinson 25:09, 50 Suzie Price 25:57, 60 Karen Gillum-Green 24:43. Emma Jamieson won the under 18 5km in 19:25.

Under 15 boys 3km Zavier Brown 10:19. Under 15 girls Jacquelyn Kowalewski 10:33.
10km walk; Peter Fox 1:00:26, Eric Kemsley 1:03:00, Tony Burrell 1:11:36. Vicky Jones 1:17:01.


Wellington Road Championships, Reservoir Road, Wainuiomata – 18 September 2021
Will Anthony national under 18 road champion and junior 5000m and cross country champion stepped up to the senior men’s 10km. The 18-year-old ran an impressive 30:51 to beat Daniel Jones by eight seconds. Personal bests were recorded by the next four to finish Nathan Tse 31:27, 2019 Wellington champion Seamus Kane 31:32, Kristian Day 31:33 and Bert Prendergast 31:59.

National road champion in 2012 and 2019 Wellington champion Sarah Drought won the senior women’s title in 35:15 from Esther George 35:39 PB and defending champion Ruby Muir 37:14. In the master women Mel Stevens ran 38:09, Ingrid Cree a PB 38:18 and Lindsay Barwick 40:01.

Brian Garmonsway won the master men 10km in 32:25 from Daniel Clendon 32:38 PB and Simon Wills 33:01. Paul Hewitson was the best of the over 50 in 35:08, from Grant McLean 35:33 and Brendon Thompson 35:59.

Winners over 5km; Jack Hunter U/18 16:10, Hayden Storrier U/20 16:55, Maeghan Casey U/18 18:18, Charlotte Floodsmith-Ryan U/20 19:04, Heather Walker MW50 19:32 and Michele Allison MW60 21:25.

Under 16 3.5km Max Poland 10:53 and Ava Sutherland 12:33. Under 14 2.5km Desmond Reddy 8:17 and Madison Wos 8:42.


Southland Road Championships – 18 September 2021
Dwight Grieve was the hometown hero. The 44-year-old Te Anau policeman, won the 10km outright in 33:29.
Grieve was the first master with Benny Britton in second in 33:34 taking the senior men’s title. This is the second year they have finished first and second.

Dylan Forde was second senior in 34:24 and Richie Ford third in 35:22.

Craig Iversen was second in the masters in 34:15 and Bobby Douglas third in 38:27. Grant Baker MM50 43:41. Fiordland won the teams title.

Virginia Pile won the senior women’s title. In the master women 6km 35-49 Lisa Simpson 30:08, Carolyn Fox 30:09, Lee Grieve 35:43. MW50 Debbie Telfer 26:28.

Women under 20 6km Sadie Wech 25:40, under 18 Kennedy Taylor 22:42, under 18 men James McLeay 20:19. Under 16 4km; Jude Deaker 13:33 one second ahead of Lucas Huia and in the girls Kimberley Iversen 14:41.

International Results

World Athletics Continental Tour Silver Level, Gala Dei Castelli Meeting, Bellinzona, 14 September: Hamish Carson 1500m 3:37.76 (6). 

Trond Mohn Games, Bergen, 18 September: Hamish Carson 1500m 3:44.57 (3). Joonas Rinne of Finland won in 3:43.03.

Road and Trail Races Around the Country

The Honest 10km, Oriental Bay, 19 September: Stewart Rodney 35:05, Blake Hawes 39:37, Hugh Hendrickson 39:48.

60th Governors Bay to Lyttelton 10km Road Race, 18 September: Christopher Dryden 29:48 PB, Oska Baynes 29:53 PB, William Little 30:58 PB, Cameron Clark 31:17 PB. Hannah Oldroyd 37:15, Olivia Ritchie 37:56, Samantha Benson-Pope 39:28 PB. Masters; James Parrott 32:38, Vajin Armstrong 33:38, Simon Kerr 34:34. Andrea Hewitt 36:43, Catherine Calverley 39:23, Lisa Brignull 40:19.