News & Updates

4 October 2021 • General

Weekly Round Up: 4 October

Harry Dixon competing at the Manawatu Wanganui Road Championships (Photo: Robert Dabb)

New Zealand competition results


Manawatu Wanganui Road Championships, Beaconsfield Valley Road, Cheltenham – 25 September 2021
Harry Dixon of Feilding Moa Harriers won the senior 10km in 31:25, a PB by 1:20. The 31-year-old from Nelson was the 2008 New Zealand junior 5000m champion and went on to complete an athletic scholarship at Eastern Michigan University.

Luke Scott was second in 32:04 PB followed by Damien Lardner 33:32, Josh Dunstan-Brown 34:51 and Niam Macdonald 35:15.

Dixon completed a Biology degree in Michigan. On returning to New Zealand he had a brief stay in Nelson before shifting to Palmerston North to study at the veterinary school at Massey University. He is looking forward to a fast 10,000m in Wellington on 13 November and a quick 5000m at the Night of Fives on 21 December.

Amara Rae won the senior women’s 5km in 19:46, Stephanie Walker under 20 20:54, Emma Ferguson under 18 18:51 and Courtney Fitzgibbon under 16 19:33. Master women fastest times Dorta Starzak 20:44, Karis Rae 20:13, Wendy Cottrell-Teahan 21:19 and Vanessa Story 22:13.

Master men 10km AJ Cornwall 37:18, William Twiss 40:39, Paul Wasley 41:05.

In the 6km under 18 Nelson Doolan 20:03, Daniel Sinclair 20:17. Under 16 Reuben Duker 21:31. Lucas Martin 10km race walk 1:04:08.

Wellington Race Walking Championships, Twin Lakes Road Te Marua – 2 October 2021
Quentin Rew set a New Zealand and Wellington M35 masters record of 43:39 in winning the 10km race walk. Rew is currently in Wellington awaiting a clearance to return to his base in Melbourne following on from the Tokyo Olympics where he finished 16th in the 50km race walk. Daniel du Toit under 20, was second in 49:55, Clive McGovern recorded 64:26 and Sean Lake 65:43.

Jacqueline Wilson in the women’s 10km was also in record breaking form setting a New Zealand and Wellington W75 masters record of 67:56, just 10 seconds shy of Swedish walker Britta Tibbling’s world masters record.

Dani McLean was second in 70:40 and Sonja McLean third in 88:04.

Winners in the under 16 5km Liam Dunlop-Brown in 34:19 and Sarah du Toit 35:08.

81st Takahe to Akaroa Road Relay – 2 October 2021
University of Canterbury dominated the senior A grade relay leading throughout to win in 4:03:13, 22 minutes ahead of their number two team. Fastest laps were recorded by Brett Tingay 9.6km 31:28, Chris Dryden 10.4km 33:05, William Little 10.0km 31:19, Daniel Balchin 9.4km 28:47, Andy Good 6.8km up the hill in 25:49, 30 seconds outside John Hellemans 1981 lap record, Max Yanzick 9.5km 27:10 and Oska Baynes anchored them home running 31:39 for the 9.9km. Harry Ewing ran 33:56 on lap five, the fastest time on this 10.7km lap going to Caden Shields with 32:37 who was in the third placed Don Greig Racing Stables team.

University of Canterbury won the national title in Feilding last year and they have won the national title on the Akaroa course in 1985 and 2009.

Don Greig Racing Stables with their team of Anne McLeod, Samantha Benson-Pope, Imogen Hull, Katherine Reardon, Hannah Oldroyd, Savanah Stewart, Lisa Brignull and Olivia Ritchie won the senior women in 5:12:44. Complete Podiatry was second and University of Canterbury third. New Brighton Olympic won the master women in 5:45:01.

Sumner won the master men 35-49 relay in 4:46:00 and DGRS took out the MM 50 in 5:10:57.

In the Allandale to Cooptown relay Christchurch Avon team of Luke Mitchell, Theo Walker, Cameron Clark, Chanel Muir, Noah Fenwick and Thomas Clarke combined well to win the junior men in 2:16:38 from Port Hills 2:17:03 and Papanui TocH 2:18:00. The junior women’s relay went to Papanui TocH in 2:46:47 with their team of Amber de Wit, Neve Moulai, Georgia-Rose Dawson, Sequoya Prentice, Paris Carroll and Alyssa Buchan. Port Hills were second in 2:57:25. Christchurch Avon won the master men over 60 in 2:49:27.

A successful day with 90 teams and 664 runners all from the Canterbury region competing along with 100 officials and volunteers.

Otago Spring 3000m Track Challenge, Caledonian Ground – 24 September 2021
Janus Staufenberg ran a PB 8:29, to win by ten seconds from Jared Monk. Liam Chesney in third recorded a PB 8:45. Jacob Weston was fourth in 8:57. Margie Campbell led in the women in 10:20 from Hannah Prosser 10:21, Zara Geddes 10:28 and Catherine Lund 10:31.

International Results

Road to 32, QSAC, 18 September: Caitlin McQuilkin-Bell 10,000m 36:42.76 PB (3).
Great Manchester 10km Road Race, 26 September: Zane Robertson pace 3km 8:23, 5km 14:37, DNF.

London Marathon, 3 October: New Zealanders in mass race; James Ralston 2:32:41 (129), Gwylym Gibson 2:35:54 (208), Adam Dustin 2:42:50 (526), Duncan Staddon 2:42:54 (530). Philippa Brown 3:20:08 (4361), Stephanie Borthwick 3:34:25 (6717), Charlotte Oldfield 3:36:26 (7085). Elite race men Sisay Lemma (Ethiopia) 2:04:01, women Joyciline Jepkosgei (Kenya) 2:17:43.

San Jose Half Marathon, San Jose CA, 3 October
: Matt Baxter 1:02:38 PB (1), a 19 seconds improvement on his 2019 winning time in San Jose.

Stillwater OK, 1 September: Isaiah Priddey 15:13 (5).
Boone NC, 3 September: Jacob Holmes 25:39 (10).
Seattle WA, 3 September: Kirstie Rae 18:12 (13).
Columbia MO, 3 September: Mitchell Small 17:57 (7), William Sinclair 18:05 (9).
Flagstaff AZ, 4 September: Theo Quax 23:35 (5). Emily Roughan 16:27 (3).
Attleboro MA, 10 September: Liam Back 25:25 (6),. Angus White 25:58 (13).
Davis CA, 10 September: Eva Goodisson 20:33 (11).
San Francisco CA, 10 September: Alison Andrews-Paul 22:11 (5).
Grand Prairie TX, 11 September: Jack Beaumont 14:57 (3).
Princeton NJ, 11 September: Maia Ramsden 16:34 (5).
Hanover NH, 11 September: David Moore 26:22 (17).

Road and Trail Races Around the Country

Sprig & Fern 10km, 2 October: Brian Grant 39:09, Edward Hohepa 39:53, Chris Sharland 40:21. Angela Leck 42:56.
25th Leith Harbour Free 5 and 10, 30 September: 5km; Corey Lewis 18:04, Andrew Lonie 18:40. Kristy Eyles 19:59. 10km; Ralph Miller 41:03. Orlaith Heron 44:15.