News & Updates

25 September 2023 • Weekly Roundup

Weekly Roundup 25 September 2023

Competitors at the New Zealand 24-Hour Championships at AUT Millennium, Auckland faced challenging conditions last weekend (23-24 September). 


New Zealand 24 Hour Running Championship, AUT Millennium Stadium, North Shore – 23/24 September 2023

Keith Burrows and Shannon-Leigh Litt defied bouts of heavy rain to secure national 24-hour titles. 
Burrows a 48-year-old IT consultant from Ponsonby, Auckland clocked up an impressive personal best distance of 226.999km, to claim a commanding winning margin over Sam Beale of Lake City, who racked up 186.846km.
Burrows has now won the title at three consecutive championships, adding it to 2020 where he covered 222.495km and last year with 214.453km.

Litt, 44, the 2018 national 100km champion, was outstanding logging up a total distance of 205.050 km. Kim Allan, who won the 24-hour title in 2018 with 167.6km took silver with Emma Timmis in bronze.

24 Hour NZ Championship:
Men; Keith Burrows (Owairaka) 226.999 km, Sam Beale (Lake City) 186.846, Liam Jones (Wellington Scottish) Wayne Botha (Takapuna) 182.921, Mitchell Carlyle (Owairaka) 181.768, Gordon Pal (Wellington Scottish) 173.299.
Women; Shannon-Leigh Litt (Hatea) 205.050 km, Kim Allan (Timaru) 183.621, Emma Timmis (Don Greig RS) 150.000, Debbie Skilton (Auckland) 120.151.
12 Hour:
Men; Andrew McDowall (Owairaka) 128.850 km, James Inwood (Masterton) 113.216, Lyndon Dahlberg (Papakura) 93.370.
Women; Carol Robertson (Hamilton) 128.294 km, Sue Hunter (Hamilton) 104.007.
6 Hour:
Men; Scott Whitley (Wanganui Harriers) 68.508 km, Tom Keeler (Auckland) 64.876, Allan Staite (Hatea) 59.560.
Women; Sumudu Thode (Auckland) 42.387 km, Niribili File 33.329.

Spring Throws Series #1, AUT Millennium Stadium – 23 September 2023
Twelve-year-old Sina-Maria Su’a sent the 3kg shot out to a PB 14.03m, just 19cm short of Ella Mäntylä of Finland’s world best for a 12-year-old. Su’a holds the world best for the nine, ten and 11 age groups with both the 3kg and 4kg shot.
Jasmine He Ling 3kg HT 42.78m. Nils Poppe 7.26kg HT 48.52m.                                                                                                       


Blackheath & Bromley End of Summer Open, Bromley, 12 September:
Josh Nairne 800m 1:54.90 (1).

Metroplex Twilight Cross Country Meeting, 6.5km, Bedford TX, 22 September:
Joshua Gill 19:50 (1).

Copenhagen Half Marathon, 17 September:
Georgie Grgec 1:12:58 PB (27).

Berlin Marathon, 24 September:
Gwylym Gibson 2:38:16 (482). Eliud Kipchoge of Kenya won in 2:02:42, Tigst Assefa of Ethiopia set a new women’s world marathon record of 2:11:53.


Fox Trot 5km, Viaduct Harbour, 19 September:
James Spence 17:16, Harry Harris 17:21, Keith Burrows 17:33. Tia Knight 19:17, Sophie Hogan 19:34, Kaitlyn Booth 19:58.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 20 September: Joel Martin 17:57, Damon Nicholas 19:05, Chris Weeks 20:30.

Fox Trot 5km, Viaduct Harbour, 12 September: Adam Berry 17:04, Harry Harris 17:32, Keith Burrows 17:35. Sophie Hogan 19:34, Emily Richardson 22:07, Tia Knight 22:08.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 13 September: Damon Nicholas 18:36, Joel Martin 19:08, Andrew Harvey 19:15.

Whangamata Half Marathon, Williamson Park, 23 September:
Casey Thorby 1:13:58, Denis Finn 1:17:24, Mark Robinson 1:19:48. Kerry White 1:22:48, Tayla Smit 1:27:31, Kathleen Hudson 1:38:02. 10km; Jake Wilkinson 36:17, Adam Berry 36:52, Timothy Bennett 42:13. Serena Hammond 43:30. 5km; Dominic Devlin 17:06, Sam White 18:13, Steven Jamieson 18:54. Ashley Steffek 21:50. A total of 905 took part.

Cambridge Half Marathon, 24 September:
Jack Murray 1:19:27, Ants Blackmore 1:20:09, Matthew Hurford 1:20:55. Ketina Chivasa 1:35:24. 10km; Steve Rees-Jones 33:04, William Taylor 33:10, Lane Madsen 36:40. Lauren Shelley 45:40. 5km; Jake Lomas 17:14, Joahua Madsen 17:52, John Chalton 17:54. Boh Ritchie 18:34.

Port Chalmers to Dunedin 10km Road Race, 23 September: Liam Chesney 31:23 PB, Grayson Westgate 33:50, Ben Rowley 34:52, Nathan Shanks 35:05. Claudia Sole 41:03, Alice Cuthbert 42:39, Nina Sarah Batucan 44:02. 10km Walk; Alex Brown 51:01 PB. 5km; Josh Siloy 17:39, Zac Whitley 18:16, Dan Kelleher 18:29.